PLOG put a few questions of the moment to some neighborhood faces. (interview subjects pictured left to right)


Jimmy, cook, has lived in community for 21 years

What would you do with the empty parcel of land on Lincoln Road?

Neighborhood gardens. Rent out little pieces to different people. People could grow flowers, fruits and vegetables.

Have you heard about the recent campaign by State Senator Adams asking parents to search children’s rooms for guns and drugs?

If kids have weapons in their room, that’s a problem with the parents. They should check kids before they come into the house instead of going into their private room. That’s supposed to be personal.

Dave, cook, moved here almost 5 years ago

What do you think of the name Prospect Lefferts Gardens?

Rolls off the tongue doesn’t it? I spent an afternoon with a friend trying to come up with names for the neighborhood. We liked Rugby. [My friend Buzz] came up with Flat Slope. I like that. I did some research and the funniest historical name I came across for this neighborhood was Paerdegat. I don’t know if I’d recommend that as a name for the neighborhood. It means “horse’s —hole.” The Paerdegat were these big holes that were drilled as wells before water lines were run to Brooklyn.

Have you heard about the recent campaign by State Senator Adams?

Do the senator’s children have guns and weed? Is that the problem?


Joel, lawyer, came to neighborhood last month

Any ideas for the property on Lincoln Road?

I lived in Paris for two years. They have teeny little pocket parks all through the city. I’d like to see that here.

What do you think of the name of our neighborhood?

I don’t mind Lefferts Gardens but everyone I’ve mentioned it to thinks it’s in Queens.

Have you heard about the recent video that State Senator Adams made?

You don’t tell other parents how to be parents. If it’s good for your family, then good for you. But I do not believe it’s the job of politicians to tell us how to lead our personal lives.

Andrew, photographer, resident for 4 years

What do you think about State Senator Adams and his efforts to keep guns and drugs away from kids?

Maybe it’s not a bad idea. I’m all for people having their privacy but kids are kids. They’re going to get into stupid stuff. They need a little looking after. You have to respect people’s privacy but if they’re your children you have to look after them too. It’s complicated.

What do you think of the name Prospect Lefferts Gardens?

So that’s what they call it. I thought you made that up.

Lisa, bartender, has lived in area for 7 years

What would you do with the land for sale on Lincoln?

I’d build a giant house with a big backyard. Just for me.

Do you know about State Senator Adams and his efforts to check children’s rooms for guns and drugs?

I don’t agree with that. I had a parent do that and I’m still embittered.

