Haven’t gotten your fill of public art?

Take a walk down Lincoln Road between Flatbush and Ocean Avenue and see “Lincoln Road Serape” on the fence overlooking the subway. We stopped by yesterday as artist Katherine Daniels and friends weaved her work on site.

“I’m a bit of an art history nerd,” she said. “I looked at the bridge and I was thinking of diagonals and diamonds and I came upon some Navajo weavings that I thought were appropriate. I wanted to make a contemporary version of one.”

“I consider myself a sculptor but I use craft techniques,” said Daniels. “I’m weaving and sewing on a large scale and doing it very organically.”

The new piece replaces the popular installation by Crystal Gregory which decorated the area for the past year. What do you think of the new addition? Let PLOG know in the comments section.

